EDU Articles

Learn about investing, trading, retirement, banking, personal finance and more.

Ad is loading...
Help CenterFind Your WayBuy/Sell Daily ProductsIntraday ProductsFAQ
Expert's OpinionsWeekly ReportsBest StocksInvestingCryptoAI Trading BotsArtificial Intelligence
IntroductionMarket AbbreviationsStock Market StatisticsThinking about Your Financial FutureSearch for AdvisorsFinancial CalculatorsFinancial MediaFederal Agencies and Programs
Investment PortfoliosModern Portfolio TheoriesInvestment StrategyPractical Portfolio Management InfoDiversificationRatingsActivities AbroadTrading Markets
Investment Terminology and InstrumentsBasicsInvestment TerminologyTrading 1 on 1BondsMutual FundsExchange Traded Funds (ETF)StocksAnnuities
Technical Analysis and TradingAnalysis BasicsTechnical IndicatorsTrading ModelsPatternsTrading OptionsTrading ForexTrading CommoditiesSpeculative Investments
Cryptocurrencies and BlockchainBlockchainBitcoinEthereumLitecoinRippleTaxes and Regulation
RetirementSocial Security BenefitsLong-Term Care InsuranceGeneral Retirement InfoHealth InsuranceMedicare and MedicaidLife InsuranceWills and Trusts
Retirement Accounts401(k) and 403(b) PlansIndividual Retirement Accounts (IRA)SEP and SIMPLE IRAsKeogh PlansMoney Purchase/Profit Sharing PlansSelf-Employed 401(k)s and 457sPension Plan RulesCash-Balance PlansThrift Savings Plans and 529 Plans and ESA
Personal FinancePersonal BankingPersonal DebtHome RelatedTax FormsSmall BusinessIncomeInvestmentsIRS Rules and PublicationsPersonal LifeMortgage
Corporate BasicsBasicsCorporate StructureCorporate FundamentalsCorporate DebtRisksEconomicsCorporate AccountingDividendsEarnings

What is the Federal Trade Commission (FTC)?

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is an independent agency of the U.S. government that plays a crucial role in protecting consumers and ensuring a competitive marketplace. Since its inception, the FTC has been focused on encouraging market competition, breaking up monopolies, and monitoring mergers and acquisitions to safeguard consumer interests.

Comprised of three bureaus, namely Consumer Protection, Competition, and Economics, the FTC works tirelessly to advocate for consumer rights, investigate potential violations, and engage in litigation when necessary. One notable initiative spearheaded by the FTC is the National Do Not Call Registry, which imposes significant penalties on companies that make unsolicited calls to consumers who have chosen to opt out.

Fraudulent business activity and monopolistic practices are primary concerns for the FTC. The agency actively investigates consumer reports of fraud and unethical business practices. When mergers and acquisitions are proposed, the FTC ensures that such transactions do not impede healthy competition within the marketplace.

The healthcare industry has been a focal point for the FTC's efforts to monitor and unravel merger activity. The agency has closely scrutinized large hospital systems that acquire local clinics and hospitals, leading to increased prices for consumers. By intervening in such cases, the FTC aims to maintain fair pricing and accessibility for healthcare services.

It is important to note that the FTC's jurisdiction is limited to certain industries and markets. While the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) primarily focuses on securities and related reporting requirements, the FTC concentrates on general business practices. However, there can be instances where the responsibilities of these two agencies overlap.

As a bipartisan agency, the FTC operates independently from political influences. Lina Khan currently serves as the Chair of the Federal Trade Commission, leading the agency's efforts in protecting consumers and promoting fair competition.

The FTC's core objective is to enforce non-criminal antitrust laws in the United States. By targeting anticompetitive business practices, including coercive monopolies, the agency aims to foster a level playing field for businesses and prevent market distortions that harm consumers. Additionally, the FTC is dedicated to shielding consumers from predatory and deceptive business practices.

The activities of the FTC encompass a wide range of areas. The agency conducts investigations into fraud, false advertising, and other deceptive practices. It actively engages in congressional inquiries, providing valuable insights and expertise to policymakers. Additionally, the FTC plays a crucial role in reviewing proposed mergers through its Bureau of Competition, collaborating with the Department of Justice to deter anticompetitive behavior.

Scams and unfair business practices are also on the radar of the FTC. Through its diligent work, the agency strives to protect consumers from falling victim to fraudulent schemes and predatory tactics employed by unscrupulous businesses.

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is an independent agency dedicated to safeguarding consumers and promoting fair competition. Since its establishment, the FTC has evolved to address a wide range of consumer protection and antitrust concerns. By enforcing antitrust laws, investigating fraud, and monitoring mergers and acquisitions, the FTC plays a vital role in creating a level playing field and ensuring a competitive marketplace that benefits all consumers.

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) was originally created to encourage market competition and to protect consumers by breaking up monopolies and monitoring mergers and acquisition activity.

It has now branched out into more areas in the pursuit of consumer protection and fair markets. The FTC is now comprised of three bureaus: Consumer Protection, Competition, and Economics. They protect consumers from fraudulent business activity and monopolistic business practices.

They fulfill their mission through advocacy, investigation, and litigation. They are responsible for the National Do Not Call Registry, which levies heavy fines against companies which violate it by making solicitous calls to consumers who have opted-out.

They investigate consumer reports of fraud and bad business practices. When mergers and acquisitions are proposed, they FTC will make sure it won’t hinder competition in the marketplace.

One field in which they have been particularly active in monitoring and unwinding merger activity is in the healthcare industry where large hospital systems have driven prices up for consumers after acquiring their local clinics and hospitals. They perform this function within the jurisdiction of certain industries and markets but not others.

The SEC is also concerned with business practices, but only with regards to the securities the issue and the related reporting requirements. The FTC focuses on general business practices, but they can sometimes overlap with the SEC.

What is the FCC?
What are Federal Agencies?

Disclaimers and Limitations

Ad is loading...