Articles on Stock markets

News, Research and Analysis

Help Center
IntroductionMarket AbbreviationsStock Market StatisticsThinking about Your Financial FutureSearch for AdvisorsFinancial CalculatorsFinancial MediaFederal Agencies and Programs
Investment Portfolios
Investment Terminology and Instruments
Technical Analysis and Trading
Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain
Retirement Accounts
Personal Finance
Corporate Basics

What is the Series 7?

The general securities licensing test required by FINRA is the Series 7 examination.

Member firms who are part of the solicitation of securities which are not managed by other parties. If a representative only solicits securities such as mutual funds and variable annuities which are managed elsewhere, a Series 6 and Series 63 combined would fulfill the licensing requirements in that situation.

The Series 7 licenses a representative or broker to solicit the sale of individual securities, such as stocks and bonds, as well as options, derivatives, and private placement. The only securities that a Series 7 does not license an individual to solicit are commodities futures, which require a Series 3.

The exam takes approximately 6 hours to complete and consists of industry and product knowledge, ethics and fiduciary standards, economics and valuation methods for businesses and securities. Before a representative can engage in solicitation, the Series 63, which covers state-level regulations, must also be passed.

The examination is administered by FINRA, the securities industry self-regulatory organization (SRO).

What is a Broker-Dealer?
What is the Series 63?

Keywords: regulations, self-regulatory organization (SRO), licensing, Series 6,